Pi Sigma Alpha 2019 Induction Ceremony

Pictured (Left to Right): Matthew Schreiber, Mary Harris, Allison Marshall, David Knudsen, Jacob Trubey, Carly Brannan, Doruk Dalgun, Lorcan Neill

The Department of Political Science congratulates the 2019 inductees into the Zeta Epsilon chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha. Pi Sigma Alpha, the national political science honor society, is the only recognized college honor society in the field of political science. This year’s inductees include:

Brooke Antol                                      David Knudsen                                  Lia Raves

Carly Brannan                                     Isabella Lee                                      Matthew Schreiber

Doruk Dalgun                                     Emmanuel Mijangos Lopez              Ambrosia Sharkey

Gabrielle Dauntain                              Allison Marshall                                Madison Teeter

Madison Davis                                    Sarah Martin                                    Jacob Trubey

Ryan Feeley                                        Sophia Mcmahan                             Thomas Vann             

Mary Harris                                         Lorcan Neill                                      Harrison Walker

Madeleine Hatch                                Jena Phillips                                     Nina Worth

Alexandra Hobin                                 Madison Phillips

Patrick Joyner                                     Emily Plack

Pi Sigma Alpha inductees attended the 2019 Initiation Ceremony at Winslow Hall on Feb. 5, 2019. This year’s keynote speaker was Drew Ball, state director for Environment North Carolina and an alumnus of NC State and the Department of Political Science. Ball was also inducted as a member of Pi Sigma Alpha during his undergraduate career at NC State. In his remarks to the candidates and faculty, Ball highlighted his career path since graduating from NC State, describing his work on numerous political campaigns, at the national and North Carolina chapters of the Sierra Club, and as a legislative assistant at the North Carolina General Assembly.

While membership into Pi Sigma Alpha is by invitation only, prospective students must be political science majors, have completed at least 15 credit hours of political science coursework, be juniors or seniors with a 3.25 GPA or higher in the major and have at least a 3.00 cumulative GPA. Induction into Pi Sigma Alpha recognizes academic excellence and dedication to the field of political science and serves as a marker of scholarly distinction to prospective employers and graduate or professional schools. Pi Sigma Alpha also offers opportunities for professional development and scholarships for students pursuing advanced degrees.

For more information about Pi Sigma Alpha, visit www.pisigmaalpha.org.

One response on “Pi Sigma Alpha 2019 Induction Ceremony

  1. Trista Law says:

    Congratulations to all!

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.